Sappho

Hey guys, so I have been doing a lot of studying on ancient writers and philosophers and thanks to this challenge that  Richa my really awesome and cool friend tagged me on I get a chance to participate in it.

She runs an insanely cool and fun blog, so give her blog a look at iScriblr

SAPPHO

My choice for this post is Sappho a greek poet from the island of Lesbos she is known for her Lyric Poetry which was written to be sung and accompanied by lyre.

Most of her poetry is now lost and what is extant is in fragmentary form.

Not much is known about her but she was from a very wealthy family.

Sappho was a prolific poet and her poems were well known and admired through much of antiquity .She was among the canon of  nine lyric poets .

Quotes By Sappho 

“May I write words more naked than flesh, stronger than bone, more resilient than sinew, sensitive than nerve ” (this one is my absolute favourite😍)

“Someone, I tell you, in another time will remember us”

What can not be said will be wept”

  RULES:

1 Choose the author or philosopher (it should be one from the Ancient Time). Don’t know anyone? Google it. It shouldn’t be so hard.
2 Choose 3 quotes of this author/philosopher. The country of origin – doesn’t matter (Egypt, Greece… Italy). Add any info or explanation if you like.
3 Share those quotes and nominate 3 to 6 people. (Ops, that’s not obligatory)
4 The title for the post? Choose something cool. I know you are smart enough

12 thoughts on “Sappho

  1. iScriblr 12 Jun 2018 / 4:26 pm

    That’s is awesome! 👏👏

    PS – Sappo was actually my first choice too for my challenge, but I somehow chose Virgil! 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment